About Us Members In Transitions Newsletters Education Awards Classifieds
About Us
The professional Society of Local Government Managers regulates the practices of local government managers and ensures its members act in the best public interest.

Under Alberta Statute, the Society sets practice standards along with remedial actions. As well, the Society recognizes professional managers with a Certified Local Government Managers (CLGM) designation.

Alberta's professional local government managers, working with you to provide quality local government management.

Feel free to email Linda Davies at if you have any questions, comments, or concerns.

May 14-17, 2019 MALW

The Society of Local Government Managers (SLGM) will be hosting the Municipal Administration Leadership Workshop from May 14-17, 2019 MALW.

An informative, educational opportunity awaits you in a beautiful mountain setting. The Society has planned an exceptional two and a half day educational program directed at meeting the needs of municipal managers, assistants, departmental managers, and government employees looking for a professional educational experience that provides practical skills for dealing with contemporary issues.
You will find senior and junior level CAOs from urban and rural, large and small jurisdictions who value the opportunity to learn from each other as well as from experts in the field.

Reach your Peak – Plan on attending the Municipal Administration Leadership Workshop in beautiful Kananaskis Country.

2019 Mountain Refresher MALW Brochure
Click here for more information

2019 Mountain Refresher MALW Registration Form
Click here for the Registration form

A look at the Mountain Refresher|MALW in review. Click here to access the mobile website


Thanks to our 2018 Sponsors!

  • Alberta Municipal Affairs
  • Alberta Urban Municipalities Association
  • Associated Engineering
  • ATB Investor Services
  • BR2 Architect
  • AltaGas Utilities Inc
  • B2 Architect
  • Border Paving
  • Bow Valley Bridge Services
  • Brooks Asphalt
  • Brownlee LLP
  • CIBC Wood Gundy
  • Davies Park
  • FORTISAlberta
  • County of Grande Prairie
  • ISL Engineering and Land Services
  • MLT Aikins Lawyers
  • MPE Engineering Ltd
  • Northern Sunrise County
  • RC Strategies
  • Reynolds Mirth Richards & Farmer LLP
  • Rural Municipalities Association
  • Saddle Hills County
  • Shaw Communications Inc
  • Shores Jardine LLP
  • Stantec
  • Volker Stevin Highways Ltd.
  • Wes-Can Seal Coating Inc.
  • WSP


Larry Majeski Bursary

"The SLGM, is honoured to offer the Larry Majeski Bursary award to Local Government Managers and senior staff who may wish to enroll in the Mountain Refresher Workshop. The Mountain Refresher Municipal Administration Leadership Workshop is a 21/2 day educational event, with the beautiful Kananaskis Mountains as its backdrop. The courses are designed to meet the needs of municipal government professionals, who are looking for an educational experience that provides practical skills for dealing with contemporary issues. The applicant does not have to be a member of the SLGM to apply."

Click Here for More Information
Download Application Form

The Leadership Legacy

The Society of Local Government Managers (SLGM) is pleased to launch the ‘online’ Local Government Leadership Profiles.

This initiative was initiated by the Society of Local Government Managers Board of Directors with specific leadership provided by Board Chair Chris Jardine, CLGM and Society member Dr. Gordon McIntosh, CLGM with input from professionals throughout Alberta. At the 2013 SLGM conference, participants identified key leadership competencies required of Chief Administrative Officers, managers and supervisors to deal with the changing local government landscape. Later that year, a province-wide survey provided further leadership insights. A group of professionals developed key leader expectations for further input at the 2014 SLGM conference.

These competency-based Leader Profiles will be helpful for:

  • Councils to recruit and provide feedback for the Chief Administrative Officer position
  • Incumbent and aspiring CAOs to undertake self–assessments and develop the needed competencies to prepare to advance.
  • CAOs and managers to guide the staff performance and learning
  • Municipal–related Associations to provide contemporary training needs
  • Educational institutions to ensure contemporary competency-based learning
Strategic Leader Profile
Tactical Leader Profile
Operational Leader Profile

The SLGM Board looks forward to sharing and working with professional and political associations to enhance local government leadership.

Our profound thanks to all who volunteered their time and participated in this venture and in particular Dr. Gord McIntosh.

 Classifieds - New

MD of Greenview
Engineering Design Technologist
Posting Date: February 28, 2019
Read More
MD of Willow Creek
Chief Administrative Officer
Posting Date: February 20, 2019
Read More
County of Grande Prairie No.1
Chief Administrative Officer
Posting Date: February 11, 2019
Read More
Town of Barrhead
Posting Date: January 17, 2019
Read More